Platypus

Platypus

Platypus Sunning himself on a log

I was extremely lucky this day – this platypus spent about 5 minutes sunning himself and scratching on a submerged log.  They are strange creatures – only about 30cm (12″) long, they have a bill like a duck, a body like an otter, a tail like a beaver, the males have a sharp spur on their hind leg which can inject a painful venom (non lethal, but very painful) and the females lay eggs!  They are monontremes – which is an egg laying mammal – one of only two species in Austrlaia – the Platypus and the Echidna (Spiny Ant Eater).  In fact, Australia and New Guinea are the only 2 countries that have monotremes.

These animals are quite rare – in 53 years this is the first time I have ever seen one in the wild.

3 thoughts on “Platypus

  1. lylekrahn says:

    From the time I first heard about a platypus, I was fascinated by it. What a treat to find it in the wild!

  2. Mark Young says:

    It certainly was Lyle – I have spoken to a number of people who have gone there an not seen even 1 ! So, yes, I was extremely lucky. (Mind you, I don’t now how many of them got there at 4:30am !)

  3. […] of shots, quite a few of which turned out OK.  I won’t go into the issues with photographing Platypus as I have already covered that in a previous post, […]

Leave a Reply

