Prime Lens Challenge

We have a Facebook Group called the Australian Photographers Support Support Community and within that one of the members, Troy Graham, suggested we do a Prime Lens Challenge – using only a prime lens, you must take one photograph every day for 31 days – you can’t shoot the same type of thing more than once (say if you shoot a dog, then no more dog photos unless they are completely different) .  Only problem is, I don’t own a prime lens.  So it was decided that you could use a zoom so long as it was at an extreme (I’m using a 24-70 mm @ 24mm).  It was actually supposed to be at the longest end (in my case 70mm) however I decided to change that rule as I am very comfortable at 70 mm, however I don’t use the lower end very often – in other words, I am a little out of my comfort zone.

That’s what this challenge is all about – doing something that you are not really comfortable with.  You see an image and think, that would look great at 70 mm – but how do I make it look good at 24 mm now?

So I will post my daily images here and you can judge how you think I am doing.

Oh, and the prize – the winner can buy Tony Graham a Canon 70-200 mm f/2.8 IS USM II Lens – I think I’ll aim for 2nd…

Leave a Reply

