A day in the life of a Cane Harvester

In one of my earlier posts on Self Publishing I talked about my Book, Cane Harvesting 2012 so I thought I would share some of the images with you here on my Blog.

I went out early one morning, about 4:30 am to take some Photographs of my Nieces’s husband working – he is a contract sugar cane harvester who works around the Mackay area.  By the time I got there (I got a bit lost) they were already hard at it.  So, I set up my tripod in the dark and started taking photos.  Renato warned me to be careful because they wouldn’t be able to see me in the dark!  I was using my 70-200 f/2.8L lens, so everything looks quite a bit closer than it really is.  One of the photos is a squiggly light painting where I thought the tractor was going to run over me so I just took off mid shot!  Some of the earlier shots aren’t that clear, but all in all it was a very successful day and I finished up about 9:00 am with over 450 shots (it’s OK, I’m not going to put them all up here!)

After the shoot I was showing my Niece, Stacey, and she said the photos would make a lovely Christmas Present for Renato – from there it turned into a book – I’m not sure how, but a coffee table book is something I have wanted to do for over 20 years. so thanks Stacey, I’ve now done it (the first one, anyway).

Some of these are in the book, but there are also quite a few that didn’t make the cut.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

