Tips for new Photographers

Whilst I am new to Digital Photography, I have been taking photos for over 20 years and a lot of the things I have learned along the way apply equally as much to Digital as they do to Film.  I am a member of a few photography groups and one in Particular, The Australian Photographers Support Community attracts a lot of new and eager photographers.  Initially, a lot of newer people are hesitant to post into this group, because they feel “inadequate” or they don’t understand all of the terminology and don’t want to be embarrassed by their lack of knowledge.  The thing is, get over your fears, because just 1 post in these forums can teach you so much – you would have to read for hours what these people can teach you in a few minutes.

What I want to do is to create a series of blogs containing techniques and tips that can help you improve your photography – some of this stuff here I have only just learnt myself – some of it I have gathered over years from reading copious books and magazines on Photography – some just by trial & error over many years.  These are not meant to be in-depth treatises, just an introduction so that you are familiar with terminology and concepts.

Not everyone wants to be a professional photographer but everyone wants to take better pictures and if I can help, that would be great.

Halliday Bay

Halliday Bay – just after Sunrise

2 thoughts on “Tips for new Photographers

  1. I think that what you published was very logical. However,
    consider this, suppose you added a little information?
    I am not suggesting your content isn’t good., however what if you added something to maybe get folk’s
    attention? I mean Tips for new Photographers | MY Digital Photography is a little boring.
    You could glance at Yahoo’s home page and see how they create article titles to grab viewers interested. You might add a video or a picture or two to get readers interested about what you’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it might make your posts a little bit more interesting.

  2. Mark Young says:

    I have taken your comment into consideration and I have been doing a bit of research – I agree with you and I hope my new article titles are a lot better! Thanks for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

