Koala Bear

I had a message waiting on my Facebook Page last night – “Hey Uncle Mark, there’s a Koala in the tree here – tried calling but I couldn’t get through.”

So, of course I dropped everything (updated my Facebook status first!) and bolted – see, it’s a 35 minute drive to their place – I made it in 20.  And by the time I got there, it was about 30′ up in a tree.  I was greeted by a couple of the farm boys and they took me down to the tree. and this is what I saw –

Koala's Bum

Koala’s Bum

So, I patiently waited for him to turn around and waited, waited, waited – well, not really – I snapped off another 16 shots of this furry little bum!  Then, finally:

Koala Bear

Koala Bear

Not the best image, it’s a little soft – but he was 30′ up in the tree with the wind blowing ! and it was late afternoon….

Renato, the Cane Farmer came up to me while I was snapping away and said, here, have a look at these – and showed me 1/2 dozen images of this little fella walking across the cane fields, directly towards Renato.  The last image, he was about 4′ away from Renato looking straight at the iPhone!!!

This is the first time that I’ve photographed a Koala in the wild – and only about the 3rd time I’ve even seen one in the wild!  This is certainly the closest I’ve ever been to one.

Koala Bear

Koala Bear

Then, after trying to get a decent picture oh him from all different angles (every time I went one way, he would turn around and face the other!) he decides to move another 10′ or so up the tree!

Koala Climbing

Koala Climbing

Koala Sitting

Koala Sitting – about 40′ up in the tree

Koala Peeking

Koala Peeking

Koala Relaxing

Koala Relaxing

Koala Chillaxing

Koala Chillaxing

Koala Farewell

Koala Farewell

And after an hour or so and 203 photos later, it got too dark and windy to be able to get a decent photo of the Koala, so, of course, I thought I’d finish with this….

Homebush Sunset

Homebush Sunset

6 thoughts on “Koala Bear

  1. mmihuta@gmail.com says:

    Haha, love how you had to update your FB status first! Great shots, even though the little fella was slightly uncooperative. I’m glad to know that this one was slightly active, as they do have the reputation of being quite lazy! 🙂

  2. alex mackelvie says:

    Nice post… except for the title. It’s not a bear.

Leave a Reply

