It’s not just Food and Water we need..

There are theories of Psychology I learnt when I was at Uni (and I forget who said what now) that once the basic functions of food, water and safety are met, then we need to feed our mind (I think that is Freud’s theory of ID, Ego & Superego, but I’m not going to get hung up on it!).

This is what I am trying to do with the orphans at Allambie Orphanage in Vietnam when I go there in March.  There basic needs have been provided and are being maintained by Suzanne, who is a wonderful role model.  I am going to teach the orphans and there are 6 of them about photography.  No big deal really, but the biggest problem I have – apart from the fact that I don’t speak Vietnamese, well, I can say thank you, and point to someone’s head and say Hat! – is the fact that the kids don’t have cameras!

Allambie Orphanage 2013

Allambie Orphanage 2013

So, in an effort to do this properly, I have started an Indiegogo campaign to raise $7,120.  Why so much?  Have a look at the Allambie Campaign and you can see how I have broken this down.

In brief, I need cameras (preferably DSLR all of the same make – Hello Canon!) so that I can teach them how to control the various element of photography – exposure, shutter speed, aperture, white balance and so on.  Some of these kids are probably way too young for a DSLR so I need some point and shoot cameras as well.

I also want to get them a dedicated computer for Photography with all the software they will need.  It needs to be a recent model desktop with a fair bit of grunt to run some of the memory intensive photography applications like Lightroom and Photoshop.  I also want to get them a commercial website so that they can help to support themselves by selling their photographs.

I have given myself 8 weeks to teach them not only how to take photographs, but to edit them and upload them to their website – pretty ambitious really!

I realise that it can’t really all happen in 8 weeks, but I also have plans to give them on-going training and support via the internet.

I am pretty sure I will be ably helped by one of the kids, Nhi, who wants to go to University to study Photography and Media next year, so he is very excited by this plan.  If things work out the way I hope, Nhi will be my “Main Man in Vietnam”!  lol

Suzanne Hook’s Allambie 2013 Update

Click the link below to donate

Please help me to help the children of Allambie by donating now – $10 is not much to us, but it can make a huge difference to these children.

5 thoughts on “It’s not just Food and Water we need..

  1. Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News?

    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Appreciate it

  2. Mark Young says:

    It’s all about SEO and content marketing. You might like to have a look at http://mydigitalphotography.net.au/2014/01/03/seo-an-introduction/

    Good luck!

  3. Wonderful article! This is the type oof information that should be shared across the web.
    Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this post higher!
    Come on over and seek advice from my website .
    Thanks =)

  4. Katlyn says:

    Hello! I’ve been reading your weblog for a while now
    and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from
    Atascocita Tx! Just wanted to mention keep
    up the great job!

Leave a Reply

