Don’t wait too long to do cool stuff with your life

Sapa

I started photography in 1992 when I was 33 years old.  I had always enjoyed taking photo’s with my little point and shoot cameras so I was on holidays on the Sunshine Coast when I saw a SLR camera in a 2nd hand store – so I bought myself a $250 camera – a Minolta X-300 with a 50mm lens, a zoom lens and a couple of bits and pieces.  Thus began my love affair with photography.

I am self taught and I read hundreds of books and articles and magazines (no Google then) and practised what I read.  I practised on inanimate objects, animals, trees, flowers lizards – anything but people.  In all my years of shooting film, I was always fascinated by photography that didn’t include people.  I shot a couple of weddings for my sister and my niece but generally I stuck to landscape & nature.  I often mused about being a full time photographer, but life was too serious and I had to make a lot of money and I had a wife and family – very responsible.

“Keep your thoughts positive
because your thoughts become your words.

Keep your words positive
because your words become your behavior.

Keep your behavior positive
because your behavior becomes your habits.

Keep your habits positive
because your habits become your values.

Keep your values positive
because your values become your destiny.”

Mahatma Ghandi

It wasn’t until the last couple of years that I realised I was stuck in a rut — my destiny was starting to look a bit bleak to me – what was I doing? Responsible job, making money, being reliable and industrious – and hating it!  So I went back to my passion – photography.  As I started doing more and more photography again, that desire to do it full time came back – even stronger.

So, in May of 2013, I was driving to work and I started a mantra “Do not quit, do not quit, do not quit…….” Over and over again. I walked in and said “I have to leave”.

Three weeks later I was a full time photographer.

Responsible?  No

Make money? No

Cool?  YES

OK, let me say here – I am now on my own and no real responsibilities any more (other than work) – so why not?  I have worked long and hard all my life (I am 54 now) and for the first time in my life – I didn’t NEED a lot of money? Did I need the responsibility of running someone else’s company? – “No”.  So, I decided to change my destiny.

So what do I do with my life now?  I still work hard, I still try and be responsible and I am still industrious – what have I done since May?

        • Designed a web site
        • Started a Blog
        • Built a studio
        • Published 2 photographic books
        • Held a Photography Exhibition “Mackay through MY lens”
        • Sold some of my images (Yay!)
        • Creating (it’s a work in progress) postcards using my images
        • Heading back to Vietnam via the Philippines in February/March
        • Going to teach orphans in Vietnam Photography

If you would like to help me with my volunteer work in Vietnam at the Allambie Orphanage please click the link below:

DONATE 

8 thoughts on “Don’t wait too long to do cool stuff with your life

  1. Awesome blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost
    on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m
    completely confused .. Any tips? Thank you!

    • Mark Young says:

      Thanks for the compliment. I’d absolutely go with a free blog site like WordPress. If down the track you want to, you can upgrade for more options. Good luck with being it started. My best top would be to write about things that you are familiar with and are important to you and just be yourself. Oh, and write lots!

  2. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your
    weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it
    yourself? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this
    one today.

  3. Roslyn says:

    I was thinking about if you’ve got a twitter page. Thx for this excellent
    article.

  4. I subscribed to your feed; I am waiting for alot more ideas along
    these lines.

  5. Skye says:

    I seriously love your blog.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you make this amazing site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m looking to create my own personal blog and would love to learn where you got this
    from or exactly what the theme is named. Kudos!

Leave a Reply

